Sports

Tim Cone parts Alaska after 22 years

I was shocked to say the least when I heard the news a couple of days ago that Coach Tim Cone asked for a release from the Head Coach position of the Alaska Aces. I am not an Aces fan; I am a hardcore Purefoods/B-Meg fan however I still cannot believe that he resigned. He has been with Alaska for 22 years. It is him that heads the Aces when I starting watching and eventually loving the PBA.

Tim Cone is one of the best coaches the PBA and Alaska Aces have. He lead the Aces for 13 championships and Grand Slam back in 1996 becoming the third franchise and the fourth team to win a Grand Slam in the history of the PBA. I remember that Alaska was the strongest with him and his top five players Jojo Lastimosa, Johnny Abarrientos, Jeffrey Cariaso, Bong Hawkins and Edward Juinio. Of course they are the strongest when they have Sean Chambers as their import.

There were rumors that he will transfer to B-Meg as the head coach but he denies this and as of this writing B-Meg already announced Richard Del Rosario to be the head coach of the B-Meg franchise.

Tim Cone is also famous for the triangle office. The only head coach that wears long sleeves and tie every game.

Here are some of the tweets on this:

Surely, PBA will not be the same without Coach Tim Cone!